When you’re hurt in a car accident, the only way to recover full compensation is to take all the right steps. Unfortunately, it’s easy to make a mistake or skip a step in the car accident process, leaving you with reduced compensation or none at all.
After getting medical attention, one of your first steps is to report your car accident. But what do you need to do to file your car accident report and use it for your eventual claim? We outline the process below. For more information, contact a car accident lawyer at our firm.
Do I Need to Report My Car Accident?
If your car accident wasn’t serious, you may be wondering whether you need to file a report about the accident at all. In South Carolina, you must file a police report if more than $1,000 in property damage is done or if someone is injured or killed. Keep in mind that you do not have to file a report if the police investigated the crash. But if you fail to file when South Carolina law requires, you may face legal action.
Filing a car accident report can help you. This report is an account of the car accident right after it happened, which can help you recall important details when you file a lawsuit. Because it may be a year or more before you’re able to sue for your injuries, evidence and your memory can fail. A written report can refresh you.
Reporting Your South Carolina Car Accident
If your car accident was serious enough to warrant a police report, you’ll need to contact the police right away. The police may make their report at the scene, but you may need to draft your own report detailing what you know about the crash if the police do not file a report.
Your car accident report may include some or all of the following information:
- Your contact information
- The at-fault party’s information
- Witness names and statements
- Insurance information from the involved drivers
Getting a Copy of Your Car Accident Report in SC
Once you’ve filed your report, you may then use an official copy of that report to support your car crash claim. South Carolina’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers an option to order the report through their online services. Once you provide your personal information and the required fee, the DMV will send your collision report to you. This may be an official or unofficial copy, depending on when you act.
You may also get your copy through the mail or in person. If you’re not sure which option is best for you, talk to your lawyer about how to go about getting your copy.
Report Your Car Accident and Get Help with Your Claim
When you’re hurt in a car accident, you need every tool you can find to make your claim for compensation a success. And a thorough car accident report is one very important tool.
At Louthian Law Firm, P.A., your car accident compensation is our priority. Whether you’ve reported your car accident or have questions about doing so, we can help you. Schedule a free consultation by calling 803-454-1200 or by completing the online contact form below.
Bert Louthian has been practicing law in Columbia with his father, Herb, since 1985. After receiving his Juris Doctorate from the University of South Carolina, Bert launched his legal career in his father’s firm. With 80 years of legal experience between them, Louthian Law, P.A. remains Family-Owned and Family-Focused.
Bert understands that when life goes wrong – when you or someone you love gets hurt or suffers a loss, it can feel like nothing will ever be right or fair again. He gets up and goes to work every day to prove that feeling wrong – and does everything in his power to make things right again.